Financial method has commonly been linked to logical positivism within the vein of Milton Friedman, Karl Popper, Imre Lakatos and Thomas Kuhn. in spite of the fact that, the emergence and proliferation of recent examine courses in economics have influenced many novel advancements in financial technique. This striking Companion seriously examines those advances in methodological considering, quite those who are linked to the recent study courses which problem general financial technique.

Bringing jointly a suite of top individuals to this new methodological considering, the authors clarify the way it differs from the previous and element in the direction of additional matters and destiny concerns. the hot examine courses explored comprise behavioral and experimental economics, neuroeconomics, new welfare thought, happiness and subjective wellbeing and fitness learn, geographical economics, complexity and computational economics, agent-based modeling, evolutionary considering, macroeconomics and Keynesianism after the predicament, and new puzzling over the prestige of the economics career and the function of the media in economics.

This vital compendium will turn out valuable for researchers and postgraduate scholars of monetary method and the philosophy of economics. Practitioners within the leading edge of recent monetary considering also will locate lots of helpful info during this path-breaking book.

Contributors: A. Alexandrova, E. Angner, R.E. Backhouse, B.W. Bateman, P.L. Borrill, L. Bruni, D. Colander, J.B. Davis, ok. Dopfer, P. Garcia Duarte, D.W. fingers, D.M. Haybron, F. Heukelom, G.M. Hodgson, ok. Juselius, U. Mäki, C. Marchionni, T. Mata, P. Mirowski, P.L. Porta, D. Ross, A.C. Santos, L. Tesfatsion, P. Tubaro, ok. Vela Velupillai, J. Vromen, L.R. Wray, S. Zambelli

Show description

Read Online or Download The Elgar Companion to Recent Economic Methodology (Elgar Original Reference) PDF

Best Economic Theory books

A Critique of Welfare Economics

First released in 1950, this ebook was once fascinated by the exposition, feedback, and appreciation of the idea of monetary welfare because it have been built to that date. Now reissued, Little has further a brand new retrospective preface during which he assesses the contribution the publication made within the gentle of next literature within the sector.

Micha? Kalecki: An Intellectual Biography: Volume I Rendezvous in Cambridge 1899-1939 (Palgrave Studies in the History of Economic Thought Series)

This quantity of highbrow biography takes the Polish economist Micha? Kalecki (1899-1970) from the shattering of his filthy rich youth, in Tsarist ? ód? within the 1905 Revolution, to Cambridge and the failure of his co-operative study with John Maynard Keynes's supporters in Cambridge.

Understanding Keynes' General Theory

This booklet is a complete consultant for these looking to totally understand Keynes' common conception of Employment, curiosity and funds , and particularly these impending the paintings for the 1st time. It also highlights Keynes' vital coverage insights. This e-book is a vital advent to Keynes' such a lot influential textual content.

The Economics of Social Problems, Fourth Edition

The fourth version of this well known textbook attracts on fresh advancements in social concerns, putting them inside an monetary framework that offers either an creation and a transparent research of those issues. The authors have retained the confirmed constitution of past variants whereas increasing their outlook to delve into the economics of poverty and social exclusion, crime and the getting older inhabitants as well as completely updating sections on well-being, setting and schooling between others.

Additional info for The Elgar Companion to Recent Economic Methodology (Elgar Original Reference)

Show sample text content

Rated 4.30 of 5 – based on 15 votes